Call Me A Rebel For a Cure

August 9, 2013 at 4:00 pm 1 comment

veggies_rebel_sm
Rumor has it that you can not grow food on your front lawn. That is not exactly true, it is the city owned front easement (that strip between the sidewalk and the street) that you may not farm on.

Gangsta Gardner, Ron Finley, has been grappling with the city of Los Angeles for two years now over his “Food Forest”, as are other front-scape gardeners.

Time for me to flex my rebellion muscles in my own neighborhood.  During the 9 years since my move out of the adjacent to the Angeles Crest forest home in Lake View Terrace and back to the much smaller city home in LA, I’ve neglected myself by not having the garden I’d become accustomed to.

With a local market at the end of our street, it seemed silly to recreate the old garden. After all, I don’t have very much land and not so many kids at home, I convinced myself.

“Growing your own food is like printing your own money,” Ron Finley reminds us. Somehow I had forgotten this major benefit of home gardening. Fortunately, I had not forgotten the health benefits as I set up container gardening last month.

I’ve also decided that my front yard needs to provide for my family and others. In the coming year, as budget allows, I will remove all the front hedging and replace it with dwarf citrus tress. The grass area that once had a 3 foot strip of flowers along the front of the property will welcome next spring and summer with kale and other salad vegetables to cure our body and souls.

Just to be sure there is no confusion between anyone who passes by and our great City of Angels, I’ll post a sign that reads “please help yourself”

Have a sustainable life.

Entry filed under: A Sustainable Life, Nutrition. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Local Harvest – Local Families – Local Farmer’s Market I Don’t Do Cow.

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 13,199 hits
August 2013
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

My Upcoming Events

2014
LA RIver Ride

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 876 other subscribers

Follow me!

Copyright 2007 – 2014

I would be delighted for you to use, share, copy, post, tweet or whatever my images, thoughts and ideas. The only thing I ask of you is to share the love by mentioning me and link things back here to CysBronner.WordPress.Com. After all, this is why I blog - to share.
All photos and writing on this blog are the property of Blogging for a Cure (Cys Bronner). Thanks!