Day Two is almost done – Getting home from The Ride to Conquer Cancer

June 25, 2008 at 9:41 pm 1 comment

The train almost did me in. I had no idea I would get motion sickness, not having been on a train in 30 years (for those of you doing the math, I was 16. Trust me, it does too add up to 29). I thought it was extremely ironic that I made it over 200K on a bike only to be taken down by a train ride.

Fortunately, I had met some terrific people along the way, Kate and Sue pulled me to the end of the car where we had lots of room, lovely bottles of water waiting for us and time to regroup.

I hadn’t expected all that was done for us. I’m no stranger to corporate sponsors but in this case it was an amazing out pouring. Via Rail donated their trains to us for the trek from Niagara to Toronto. They provided the endless water bottles too.

We returned to the Exhibition Centre and I got my bike and gear. Just then Joe, who I had also met on the second day, promised to see me back to the B&B, making sure the American didn’t get lost along the way.

As soon as we took off, I got sicker and told Joe I would walk. He wouldn’t hear of it. He took my pack, tossed it on his handle bars set about his way, taking care of the US. I could not believe it, 2 days, his own gear and he was still willing to help me out. Just one more incredible story in this whole journey.

Entry filed under: Century Ride. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Day Two – The Ride to Conquer Cancer Where I am on my cycling goals

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Joe Ivan  |  November 6, 2008 at 1:10 pm

    Hi Cys – I am not computer literate right now, so my friend is sending you this email for me. Hope everything is well in your life. I did receive your previous emails – thanks – life is really busy – maybe we will see you on the next ride to conquer cancer. Drop me an email.

    Joe!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 13,199 hits
June 2008
S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

My Upcoming Events

2014
LA RIver Ride

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 876 other subscribers

Follow me!

Copyright 2007 – 2014

I would be delighted for you to use, share, copy, post, tweet or whatever my images, thoughts and ideas. The only thing I ask of you is to share the love by mentioning me and link things back here to CysBronner.WordPress.Com. After all, this is why I blog - to share.
All photos and writing on this blog are the property of Blogging for a Cure (Cys Bronner). Thanks!