My Understudies Debut.

February 27, 2008 at 11:55 pm Leave a comment

My Understudies Debut.

Late Friday night, after the car was loaded and all set for our early o’ dark hundred training start, my husband takes the car to the market. Unfortunately, my bike was on top of the car when he entered the underground parking garage. For the sake of brevity, I’ll tell you that you may insert bad word, bad word here and that the bike is now at the Trek Hospital (Helen’s Cycles) on life support.

Saturday morning had me trying the first climb with a 40 year old bike who’s gears were rusted stuck in 3rd or 4th gear. I tried with two hands to shift and could not do it. I struggled up that climb and finally thought that it was too stupid to try 70 miles of Charlie’s tour like that. I rode back to town via the bike path, bought a new bike to return to training (20 miles round trip). I didn’t have a whole lot of bucks and I wasn’t about to leave without a bike that day but I think the understudy bike will do nicely.

Here’s the new addition to our family:

Trek 1.2 WSD

Specifications
Frameset
Sizes Women’s 43, 47, 50, 52, 54, 56cm
Frame Alpha White Aluminum
Fork Bontrager Approved, carbon
Wheels
Wheels Alloy hubs; Alex alloy rims w/eyelets
Tires Bontrager Select, 700x25c (43cm: 650x25c)
Drivetrain
Shifters Shimano 2203 STI, 8 speed
Front Derailleur Shimano 2203
Rear Derailleur Shimano Sora
Crank Bontrager Sport 50/39/30
Cassette SRAM 850 12-26, 8 speed
Pedals Nylon body w/alloy cage; clips and straps
Components
Saddle Bontrager Select FIT CRZ+ Basic
Seat Post Bontrager Carbon
Handlebars Bontrager FIT VR, 31.8mm
Stem Bontrager Select, 7 degree, 31.8mm
Headset Aheadset Slimstak w/semi-cartridge bearings, sealed
Brakeset Alloy dual pivot w/Shimano 2203 STI levers

Why a woman’s bike when I generally don’t have a gender specific bike?

WSD Comfort: Contact Points
Contact points are customized to fit a woman’s anatomy.

1. LESS PAIN
Narrower handlebars keep hands in a more natural position for greater control and less shoulder pain.

2. MORE COMFORT
A woman’s specific saddle with key anatomical features provides optimized comfort and support.

3. LESS FATIGUE
Shorter-reach levers and smaller-diameter grips are sized to fit a woman’s smaller hands.

4. MORE POWER
Shorter crank arms improve leverage for a more efficient pedal stroke.

Entry filed under: Equipment. Tags: , , , , .

What’s working? Reason No. 7 to Ride

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 13,199 hits
February 2008
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

My Upcoming Events

2014
LA RIver Ride

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 876 other subscribers

Follow me!

Copyright 2007 – 2014

I would be delighted for you to use, share, copy, post, tweet or whatever my images, thoughts and ideas. The only thing I ask of you is to share the love by mentioning me and link things back here to CysBronner.WordPress.Com. After all, this is why I blog - to share.
All photos and writing on this blog are the property of Blogging for a Cure (Cys Bronner). Thanks!